Frequently Asked Questions

What Permissions Does Flookup Request?

Add-ons that request certain sensitive OAuth scopes (permissions) are subject to verification by Google.

Quote from Google: By verifying your app with Google, you can remove the unverified app screen from your authorization flow and give your users confidence that your app is non-malicious.

This simply means that you will not see any warnings during the installation process, if the add-on in question is verified by Google.

Below is a list of the OAuth scopes that we were granted permission to use with Flookup, after completing the said verification, and a brief description of how we use them.

    • View your email address: Flookup views your email address strictly for the purposes managing your subscription.

    • Connect to an external service: Flookup connects to a database within Google's ecosystem to store subscription information. This information, which is retrieved from PayPal, includes your email address, amount you paid and the subscription plan you are on.

    • Display and run third-party web content in prompts and sidebars inside Google applications: Flookup has functions that display prompts to communicate important messages to you or to initiate certain functions. This scope is necessary to accomplish that.

    • See, edit, create, and delete your spreadsheets in Google Drive: This prepares Flookup to read from and write to the spreadsheets found in your Google Drive, in which you have installed and activated the add-on. Flookup cannot process data from any spreadsheet that you have not given it explicit permission to access.

These are the only permissions that Flookup requests and they are viewable during the installation process. Should any of this change in the future, we shall update the above information accordingly.

How Secure Is My Spreadsheet Data?

We take your privacy seriously and have therefore built Flookup to respect it to the highest degree possible. As fellow netizens, we ensure that our clients to enjoy the same levels of privacy and confidentiality we have come to expect and demand ourselves. Here are three questions to help us address this concern:

    • Do Flookup developers view user data? No, it is our policy not track users or usage patterns outside the script execution data (successes and failures) that Google provides by default.

    • Does Flookup transmit spreadsheet data to any third party? No, Flookup does not transmit spreadsheet data to anyone.

    • Does Flookup store the spreadsheet data it processes? No, Flookup does not store any spreadsheet data it processes; we do not have any need to do so.

In addition to the above, any spreadsheet data you share with us is immediately deleted from our record after the reason for sharing it has been resolved. We do not retain such data for any purposes whatsoever.

What Do the Flookup Error Messages Mean?

These are a few of the errors your might encounter while using Flookup. None of them are severe and they will, therefore, not cause any loss of data whatsoever.

    • !NoResultFound: No results were found to match the criteria you entered.

    • !FunctionNotAvailable: This function is restricted for the plan you are currently on.

    • !FormulaError: There is an error in the formula you entered.

    • !SubscriptionInactive: Your unlimited trial period has ended or your subscription has expired.

Please note that these error messages are specific to Flookup and separate from the default Google Sheets error messages.

How Do I Troubleshoot My Subscription?

In the event that your subscription is not active, simply try any (if not all) of the following troubleshooting steps:

    • Logout and login afresh.

    • Remove your spreadsheet from any shared folder it might be in.

    • Make sure that you are the creator of the spreadsheet you installed Flookup in. To correct this, simply reinstall Flookup in a spreadsheet you created.

    • If you are logged into 2 different accounts at the same time, Flookup might fail to authenticate correctly. Please ensure that your "Subscriber Email" account is the default account or, if possible, sign out of the secondary account.

    • Login to the right account, then reinstall Flookup via the spreadsheet menu item located at Add-ons > Get add-ons..

Don't forget to click the "Refresh" button, found under "About Flookup", after trying any of these steps.